Except the Lord builds…

“Except the LORD build the house, they labor in vain that build it…”

Psalm 127:1

By God’s grace, my husband and I are celebrating our eighteenth anniversary soon. The Lord has done ALL of it and praise belongs to Him! I wanted to share how God began the building process in me. After I gave my heart to Jesus, He began to stir new desires within my life. What sin had tried to destroy, Jesus would now be the cornerstone in Him building a new life for me. My life honestly before then was really all about me, what would benefit me, what would satisfy me. Me, me, meyuck!! Thankfully, He opened my heart to His sacrificial love, causing me to realize how much I needed Him and began to teach me His ways. “Take my yoke upon you and learn of me…” Jesus says, in Matt. 11:28-30.

When I look back I realize that he put some of these desires in my heart even as a young girl; like loving to play with doll houses and rearranging them, even drawing houses with each room decorated. Making a home. Later, as He changed my heart, I began to want to take care of the home that I shared with my mother. My mom worked long hours traveling to the city day after day and didn’t always feel like doing chores when she had free time. Having spare time, God taught me that I could show my mother love by just doing the simple things around the house: washing dishes, vacuuming, dusting, and once in a while, baking. I really didn’t know how to cook anything back then. 😉 I had read in the Bible that this was part of God’s plan for women to serve Him and our families. God says we can love and help our husbands, children, and others by taking care of, or being a keeper at home. (Titus 2:3-5) By no means is God saying that it’s wrong to go to work or that the husband and children shouldn’t help. As women, God has put these nourishing instincts in our hearts to develop and blossom for the benefit and blessing of our families.

So, this is where it all started for me. God gave me the desire to want to be home, to want to be married, and to have children. (Lord willing!) And He did all of it in His time. Seasons have changed through the years, but the goal remains the same. If any of you are feeling weary or wondering what effect you have in your homes, know that God wants to help you! No one does it all perfectly. If we did, we wouldn’t need our Father’s help! I like to ask myself…What legacy am I leaving? Is it about all the stuff or is it about the people in my home? Is it for my Lord?

Leave a Reply

