Holiday Scents

This time of year and even through the winter when Christmas is all over, there is something about the warmth and coziness of home. Whether it’s the smell of baking cookies or a dinner that’s been waiting for you in the Crock-Pot, it’s nice to come home to those heart-warming scents. I love the smell of pine and cinnamon, particularly in the winter months, so I thought I would share with you some easy ways to fill your home with these lovely aromas. As pictured above, this not only beautiful looking, but nice smelling Holiday Simmer is a great way to start. I used a small dip-warmer Crock to place the ingredients in, but you could easily let this simmer on the stove top and refill the water as needed. I actually cut this recipe in half so I could fit in in my warmer.

Ingredients are as follows: 1 orange peel, 1/4 c. of whole cranberries, 1-2 cinnamon sticks, 1 tsp. of whole cloves, a sprig of rosemary, and 4 c. of water. Try looking for the cinnamon sticks with all the Christmas candles and decor. It’s much cheaper buying them that way than in the baking/spice aisle. I bought mine at Wal-Mart.

For those of us that didn’t buy a real Christmas tree this year, pine branches work wonderfully as another scent-filler. I bought a 25 ft. white pine garland at Sam’s Club the other day for less than $3.00. I cut it up and pretty much placed it in various spots throughout the house. 🙂

img_18251

img_18261

img_18191

Scentsicles are actually ornaments you hang on a tree to give scent, but I’m sure you can secretly place some around the house, too. Michael’s and Home Depot sell these and probably some other stores, as well.

img_18411

via Pinterest

I hope you all enjoy your Christmas gatherings with family and friends this year and the simple blessings that Jesus has so freely given, even the wonderful smells! 😉 Merry Christmas!

Leave a Reply

