Out of Darkness

“Who has delivered us from the power of darkness, and has translated us into the kingdom of His dear Son: in whom we have redemption through his blood, even the forgiveness of sins.”

Colossians 1:13-14

Twenty-two years ago, right around Christmas time, I was living in darkness. I was lonely, ready to escape this earth not knowing what would happen to my soul if I chose to take it into my own hands. Yet, I was curious about death. But thank God! He kept me from taking my own life when He stepped into my life just at the right time and brought me out of that darkness. This complete emptiness and loneliness and the realization of it didn’t just happen overnight. It took years of my life, but thankfully the Lord was able to restore, forgive, and heal. I was broken, beaten down, used, and dying physically and spiritually from the sin I was living in. I felt like there was nowhere to turn. Who could help? Who could love me the way I needed to be loved? Who could set me free? Why am I even here? What is the purpose? I didn’t have any answers, but someone did. By God’s grace, my brother had the one answer that I needed to hear that would change the course of my very life here and for all eternity.

Jesus.

When you see signs that say, “Jesus is the reason for the season!” Well, there’s a reason that’s being said. The name of Christ is within Christmas, which so many want to leave out purposefully, ignoring  this wonderful gift who was given to all. When I heard the simple words that Jesus loved me, cared for me, and wanted to forgive me of all that I’ve ever done, the light literally turned on in my dark heart. “For God who commanded the light to shine out of darkness, has shined in our hearts, to give the light of the knowledge of the glory of God in the face of Jesus Christ.” 1 Cor. 4:6

I simply believed (and still do) that God could save me through Jesus dying to take my punishment. I didn’t have to be punished for all that I ever did. Sure, their are often consequences, but God removes that sin as far as the east is from the west. (Psalm 103:12) I believed that Jesus was then raised and is alive and able to help me everyday since. I am a new person or a “new creation” as God calls His children. Old things are passed away, all things are new! 🙂 Born Again, as Jesus calls this new birth in John, chapter 3.

Jesus is not just for Christmas. This famous verse is often quoted, but this is the verse that I took literally that changed my life forever:

For God so loved the world that He gave His only begotten Son, that whoever believes in Him should not perish, but have eternal life.” (John 3:16)

Now I know where I’m going when I die. Now I know who loves me, and His love is greater than anyone’s love. Now I know who can help me and set me free from sin that comes up in my life. Now I know I have purpose.

Maybe you are in darkness. God has shown us the way through His Son, Jesus. Maybe you’re thinking, “I’m not ready!” When will you be ready? Will it be too late? All it takes is a “yes, Lord” in your heart, not your head. The Bible says this, “If you shall confess with your mouth the Lord Jesus, and shall believe in your heart that God has raised him from the dead, you shall be saved.” Romans 10:9

You can experience the most wonderful Gift this Christmas and truly have a Merry Christmas! My prayer is that you will because He loves you! 🙂

Leave a Reply

