If I Should Count Them…

I know, I know…there’s no fall theme here, but sand and shells?  Don’t be mistaken; I’m not wishing for summer again. Haha! 🙂 I’ve been thinking about sand only because God mentions it in scripture. Check this out:

How precious also are your thoughts to me, Oh God! How great is the sum of them! If I should count them, they are more in number than the sand: when I awake, I am still with thee. ” Psalm 139: 17-18

If you’ve picked up a handful of sand, you know that there are too many grains to even try to count. It’s quite amazing to think that God has SOOO many precious thoughts toward us that there are too many to count. He is so unlike us. We can’t even begin to fathom the immeasurable amount of sand on the earth, let alone in a handful. Just think, He has so many of these precious thoughts that he thinks about  John, or Tracy, or Sarah, or (put  your name here).

If you’re feeling downcast, as David the Psalmist often felt, know that the God of the universe is thinking about you and His love is like no other. Psalm 103 tells us that He has power to bless, forgive sin, heal, redeem our lives from the destruction of sin, and to satisfy us. No other person can completely do these things for us.

img_13401 So instead of thinking about the thoughts that come into our minds that are not His truth, let Him fill you with His own precious thoughts that He thinks towards you. His word helps to show us what those beautiful thoughts are…”If I should count them”.

Leave a Reply

