Basket Redo

Am I the only one who has a few baskets lying around the house, or maybe many? 😉 They are so useful for storing household necessities and sometimes junk (but we don’t do that, right?) Sometimes I like to change the look of my baskets by adding a chalkboard plaque/label or by adding a drawer pull. There are so many pretty drawer pulls out there now, but sometimes they can be a little expensive. However, if you have some old ones that are maybe even stored in one of your baskets (just kidding), you can reuse them for a basket redo.

There’s nothing that a little paint and hot glue can’t fix. My methods might be cheap, but hey, I’m saving money. Can I get an Amen? 🙂 These drawer pulls were taken from some kitchen cabinet doors that I’m currently not using. They were actually a bronze color, but I thought they could use a little touch up. I used some greenish-blue paint.

 

 

I like an aged look on stuff, but not when something looks a little grimy.  The baskets below used to have some lined fabric inside of them, but it was time for a change.

IMG_0860[1]

These baskets are used to store DVD’s and games. The drawer pulls just seem to add a little extra prettiness. You might be wondering how I attached them. Hot glue, of course!

Simply poke your knob or pull through the weaving, apply some hot glue all around the edges and really all over the backside of the knob. There’s no shame in using hot glue. No one will ever know. 🙂 And remember, if you don’t have any drawer pulls lying around, you can always get some cheap ones and paint them with a couple of brush strokes for a worn look. I hope this will inspire you to have some fun changing up a look on a basket that you may have had for years.

3 thoughts on “Basket Redo

Leave a Reply

