With God’s Help: Part 1

*(The original published post of this article was published in the summer of 2016, but was somehow  erased. Forgive me for posting it again, but I wanted to make sure I had “Part 1” archived)*

I’m so glad that Jesus doesn’t expect me to be perfect! Lord knows I’m not! My comfort is this; He is perfect. He is my Savior. He is full of grace. He is ready to help. What love the Father has lavished upon us through the Son! (1 John 3:1)

When I read stuff in the Bible like Titus 2:4-5, I’m glad that he is the One who enables. It states: “That they (older women) may teach the younger women to be sober (aware), to love their husbands (affectionately), to love their children, to be discreet, chaste, keepers at home, good, obedient to their own husbands, that the word of God be not blasphemed.”

This is not something anyone can do perfectly. In fact, we learn through our failures most of the time. There is so much meaning beyond these words. Because the New Testament was written in Greek, there is more richness in the definitions that we sometimes have to dig for. Just by using a concordance to the Bible, you can find these gems. I use Blue Letter Bible, a free app on my phone.  After looking up these nouns and adjectives, here’s what I discovered:

Discreet: of a sound mind, sane in one’s senses. Do you ever feel like going insane? Haha! See, God knows us so well.

Chaste: exciting reverence (excited to respect God), pure from carnality,modest, pure from every fault, clean. Wow! Only through the blood of Jesus. Not by works of righteousness which we have done, but by His mercy He saved us. (Titus 3:5)

Keepers at home: caring for the house, taking care of household affairs, the watch or keeper of the house. Watch means guard. It’s a military term: to be aware. Knowing what’s going on inside and outside of our homes. Not just with the house /building, but our family.

There is more, but that in itself is a lot to take in! You might feel overwhelmed when you look at that, but God didn’t write it to make us feel overwhelmed and burdened. Remember He is perfect and when we become His children, He makes us more like Him. We bear fruit in our lives just by abiding in Him. A tree branch doesn’t have to  struggle to push the fruit out. It just happens. With God’s help, He can do this in us! He loves it when we ask for His help.

2 thoughts on “With God’s Help: Part 1

  1. brookesummerlin says:

    Laura, I’m so glad you’ve started this blog. You are an excellent writer! I love the way your site looks and the topics you are covering. If you add a subscription button or email alerts, I would love to be notified whenever you make a new post. Blessings!

    Like

Leave a Reply

