Easy Gumbo

I must confess…I’m a fall/winter kind of girl. Does anyone else share this feeling? I find that there are few that share this fascination with colder weather here in the South. Sometimes even in the heat of summer, I just want some stew, soup, or gumbo.

IMG_0623[1]

Maybe this desire stems from my northern roots. Anyway, fresh-grilled veggies and meat usually take center stage on our dinner menu during the summer months. But, once in a while I revert back to my favorite fall/winter foods. Thanks to some friends, our family has been introduced to gumbo. Living in the North most of my life, I had never heard of gumbo. (I’ll also add that before marriage my cooking skills used to be heating up a can of Spaghetti O’s.) Haha!  After enjoying gumbo several times, I had to try making it myself for my family. Here’s my version of Easy Gumbo:

Ingredients:

  • 6-8 chicken bouillon cubes, 6-8 c. of water or 4 cans of chicken broth
  • 1 onion, 1 green pepper, 3 stalks of celery, all chopped, 2 tsp. minced garlic
  • 1/4 c. oil, 1/3 c. flour-for the roux
  • 1 14 oz. can of Italian diced tomatoes
  • 16 oz. package of kielbasa, chopped
  • 1 lb. shrimp, peeled and deveined (fresh or frozen) or 1-2 chicken breasts (all 3 meat combinations will work as well: kielbasa, shrimp, and chicken)
  • 1 16 oz. frozen package okra, chopped
  • Seasoning: ground red pepper, file, if available, thyme, salt and pepper
  • 2-3 cups of cooked rice
  1.  Boil 6-8 c. of water, add 6-8 bouillon cubes, or 4 cans of chicken broth. Set aside.
  2.  Chop onion, green pepper, celery, garlic. Set aside.
  3.  For a roux, pour 1/4 c. oil in large soup pan over med-high heat. Gradually whisk 1/3 c. flour into oil, stirring constantly for 15 min. or until roux becomes a reddish brown color.
  4.  Add onion, green pepper, celery and garlic to the roux. Stir well. Slowly add chicken    broth while stirring with whisk over med-high heat. Add 1 can of diced tomatoes.
  5. Add kielbasa, shrimp, and or chicken. Bring to boil. Simmer for 15 min., add frozen     package of chopped okra during this time.
  6.  Season with sprinkles of ground red pepper, file, if available, thyme, salt and        pepper. Adjust to taste.

It’ll serve a troop…at least 8-10 people, depending on how much you eat. If it’s too much for you, maybe you can share some with your neighbors, friends, or co-workers. I hope you give it a try! Please let me know if you do. Blessings!

One thought on “Easy Gumbo

  1. brookesummerlin says:

    Oh yum! I will have to make this some day…probably when Thomas is away on business, so he doesn’t have to eat the onions & celery. I love your idea about sharing the extra with neighbors. What a great way to build the kind of relationships that can lead to sharing your faith!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

